SPOKANE COUNTY LIBRARY DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES: JUNE 9, 2017

A special meeting of the Spokane County Library District Board of Trustees was held Friday, June 9, 2017, at 9:15 a.m., in the public meeting room at Argonne Library, 4322 N. Argonne Rd., Spokane, WA.

Present: John Craig - Chair

Mark Johnson - Vice Chair Sonja Carlson - Trustee Wes Teterud - Trustee Kristin Thompson - Trustee

Nancy Ledeboer - Executive Director and Secretary

Excused: None.

Also Present: Patty Franz, Administrative Assistant

Call to Order (Item I)

Chair John Craig convened the meeting at 9:20 a.m.

2017

Budget - Amend the Capital Project Fund, Resolution 17-03 (Item II) Amend the Final 2017 Capital Project Fund Budget. Mr. Johnson motioned and Ms. Thompson seconded approval of the amendment to the 2017 Capital Project Fund budget. Ms. Ledeboer pointed out the purpose of the resolution is to authorize the District to spend the funds previously transferred in February from the General Fund to the Capital Project Fund. In response to a query from Mr. Johnson, Ms. Ledeboer said visitors to the new boutique library, The BookEnd, are from across the region. There was no further discussion.

The motion was unanimously approved.

Mr. Craig called for a recess at 9:26 a.m., at which time Nancy Ledeboer and Patty Franz were excused from the meeting.

Executive Session (Item III)

Evaluate Qualifications of Applicants for Public Employment.

The Board of Trustees moved into an executive session at 9:40 a.m. to conduct interviews and evaluate qualifications of two candidates for the executive director position, with the length of the session estimated as four and a half hours. Trustee Johnson was excused from the meeting at 11:30 a.m. due to a previously scheduled engagement. The remaining board members returned from executive session at 1:16 p.m.

Public Comment (Item IV)

There was no public comment.

Adjournment (Item V)

Chair Craig adjourned the meeting at 1:16 p.m.

Special Meeting Minutes - Board of Trustees June 9, 2017 Page 2

John Graig, Chair

Nancy Ledeboer, Secretary of the Board of Trustees